$100K in scholarships for Māori students – recipients announced

Scholarships to encourage young Māori representation on the global stage and push for social equity, totalling $100,000, have been awarded for 2021. 

This year’s five Te Ara a Kupe Beaton Scholarship recipients each receive $20,000 to cover mentoring and education support services to assist them to achieve entry into some of the world’s top universities. The winners were announced last Sunday evening during an online ceremony hosted by Crimson Education, the education services company that established the scholarship awards.

Former Prime Minister Sir John Key is among those set to mentor the five winners, who this year are:  

• J’adore Harris-Tavita (St Kentigern College, Auckland)

• Blue Simpkins-Jones (Rotorua Boys’ High school, Rotorua)

• Maia Royal (Selwyn College, Auckland)

• Ella Arthur (Campion College, Gisborne)

• Koan Hemana (Rotorua Boys’ High School)

Te Ara a Kupe Beaton Scholarship was created in 2017 by Crimson Education CEO and co-founder Jamie Beaton and co-named in honour of the adventurous warrior Kupe of Māori legend. Previous recipient of the scholarship former Mt Manganui College student Samuel Taylor went on to secure a place at Harvard University and this year he returned as a judge. He will also be among the mentors of the 2021 scholarship recipients. 

School News

School News is not affiliated with any government agency, body or political party. We are an independently owned, family-operated magazine.
Back to top button