Finalists of 2021 Prime Minister’s Education Excellence Awards announced

The nominations are in and the 19 finalists who will compete for the top prizes at the 2021 Prime Minister’s Education Excellence Awards have been announced.

The annual Prime Minister’s Education Excellence Awards recognise innovative and effective teaching practices across Aotearoa, with organisers keen to highlight ‘the positive outcomes that come from working with tamariki, rangatahi, whānau, iwi, hāpu and the wider community to support all learners to succeed’.

This year’s finalists are from Auckland, Hawkes Bay, Manawatu, Nelson, Northland and Waikato regions. They are:

Excellence in Engaging:

  • Frimley Primary (Hastings)
  • Te Kura Taumata o Panguru (Northland)
  • Avondale College (Auckland)
  • Wesley College (South of Auckland)

Excellence in Leading:

  • Redoubt North School (Auckland)
  • Achieving @ Waitakere (Auckland)
  • Hastings Girls’ High (Hastings)

Excellence in Teaching and Learning:

  • Frimley Primary (Hastings)
  • Whakarongo School (Palmerston North)
  • Northland College Teen Parent Unit (Northland)
  • Sylvia Park School (Auckland)

Excellence in Health and Wellbeing Education:

  • Morrinsville College (Hamilton/Waikato)
  • Henry Hill School (Napier)
  • Wesley College (South Auckland)
  • Nelson College for Girls (Nelson)

The 2021 Focus Prize, Excellence in Environmental and Sustainability Education:

  • Kadimah School (Auckland)
  • Manurewa Intermediate School (Auckland)
  • Ngunguru School (Northland)
  • Oruaiti School (Northland)

After a year like no other, the Awards are a great opportunity to showcase the inspiring work of our educators across the country that made positive impact to our learners,” says Ministry of Education Deputy Secretary for Early Learning and Student Achievement Ellen MacGregor-Reid.

These awards are about collaboration, and teachers working together and with their students and communities to make positive changes. I congratulate all the finalists and look forward to celebrating with them at the Awards ceremony.”

The independent Judging Panel will visit finalists between June and August to see their programmes in action.

The winners will be announced at the Awards ceremony in September. Winners will receive a financial award and a professional development opportunity. Find out more about this year’s finalists on the Prime Minister’s Excellence Awards website.

Other Related Articles:

Heather Barker Vermeer

Heather has worked as a journalist, writer and editor in England and Aotearoa New Zealand for over 20 years. She fell in love with words when she received a 'Speak & Spell' tech toy for Christmas in 1984.
Check Also
Back to top button