Edwards-Title Banner-Sept-Nov-WEB

Veteran novelist named as medal winner

Veteran children’s novelist Des Hunt has been announced as the recipient of the 2017 Storylines Margaret Mahy Medal.

The Margaret Mahy Medal has been given since 1991 for an outstanding contribution and lifetime achievement in the field of New Zealand children’s literature and literacy.

“Des Hunt’s  greatest contribution is his ability to ‘ hook’ young people into reading through his riveting stories situated in familiar contexts, with characters similar to their friends and families. His school presentations make children feel that books are pivotal to their lives,” says Storylines spokesman Dr Libby Limbrick.

Des Hunt is the author of more than 20 acclaimed children’s and young adult novels, most set in New Zealand with strong environment and science themes.

Since his first novel for children in 2001, A Friend in Paradise, he has produced one or two novels nearly every year, winning places on Storylines Notable Books and New Zealand Post book awards short lists. Cry of the Taniwha won the 2016 Storylines Gaelyn Gordon Award for a Much-loved Book, and his latest Sunken Forest is a 2017 Storylines Notable Book.

Check Also

Why we need phonics more than ever in the digital age

Modern phonics is about explaining the history of English and how our spelling became the way it is, that there is a system – even though sometimes it seems like madness. We can read and write more successfully if we understand how the spelling system works and that it is based on phonics.

New teaching approach accelerates bilingual learning

New research from the University of Auckland has shown that pupils in kura kaupapa Māori-language immersion schools who have English introduced to their lessons gain a better grasp of both languages.